This is what I do on my free time.

May 10, 2009

Watching: Garden State
I’m about to make my mom a sweet card for Mother’s day with my new envelope and paper folding skills. But I wanted to upload two designs I did today. One for fun, one for a class.

I am taking Marketing Communications for a business class, it is really awesome because it has a lot to do with advertising. In the beginning of class we were assigned into groups and we were giving different categories in which to invent a new product and write a huge paper on all aspects of the company (as basically a review of everything we learned this semester) my group was assigned “Alcoholic Beverages”. My group came up with a mix drink of flavored Rum and a chaser that you can drink straight. We finished the paper and are working on our presentation. We had to make an Ad for it which of course was assigned to me. But wanting an A I decided to go above and beyond, and make packaging too…This is where my design comes in.

I wanted to make it all typographical. I also wanted each bottle to be different and connect in some way. We all wanted clever names for each flavor, this is what I came up with (you can click to see a bigger/clearer version under the “designs” page):
nectar pack

The next one I am going to design the type branches with fruit is going to be on the left side so if you put the bottles together they connect. I also am going to design the bottle tops, and an advertisement using only type that is a sticker so it can be given out to our target market. Everyone loves stickers, and the more people put stickers around, the more advertising the company gets!

Also today, I did this awesome thing I found on facebook. Here are the rules:
1 – Go to “wikipedia.” Hit “random”
or click http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Random
The first random wikipedia article you get is the name of your band.

2 – Go to “Random quotations”
or click http://www.quotationspage.com/random.php3
The last four or five words of the very last quote of the page is the title of your first album.

3 – Go to flickr and click on “explore the last seven days”
or click http://www.flickr.com/explore/interesting/7days
Third picture, no matter what it is, will be your album cover.

4 – Use photoshop or similar to put it all together.

Here is my design:
Prehistoric Asia

The band name was “Prehistoric Asia” and the album title “as close together as possible”. I am not sure how I feel about the type treatment of the album name so I may fix it later, but I think it is sweet other than that!

Hope you enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

